Please Enter Your Age

loader

FREE STANDARD CANADA POST SHIPPING FOR ORDERS OVER $200CAD

Canadian StoreUSA StoreSouth African Store  

New US States with Legal Cannabis

New US States with Legal Cannabis

New US States with Legal Cannabis

November 17, 2016 Cannabis Laws

New US States with Legal Cannabis

On November 8, 2016, five more US states legalized cannabis for recreational use, raising the current tally to eight states. Out of all recreatonal cannabis states, two stand out: Nevada has the lowest tax rate at 2% and Massachusetts allows for the most amount of consumption with ten ounces in your residence. Washington seems to be the worst because it has the highest taxes and won't allow home growing. Below is a list of the current recreational cannabis states: 

New states: 

California: People over the age of 21 can possess up to one ounce and can grow up to six plants. There are two new taxes, one levied on cultivation for $9.25 per ounce and the other is a 15% tax on retail sales.

Alaska: People over the age of 21 can possess up to one ounce and cannot harvest more than four ounces at home. There is a wholesale tax of $50 per ounce. 

Nevada: People over the age of 21 may possess up to one ounce and can grow up to six plants. A flat 2% excise tax is imposed on wholesale and retail sales.

Maine: People over the age of 21 can possess up to 2.5 ounces and grow six plants. An excise tax of 10% is imposed on all retail sales, not including an additional 5.5% state sales tax. 

Massachusetts: People over the age of 21 can possess up to one ounce (outside residence) and ten ounces (inside residence) and grow up to six plants. An excise tax of 10% is imposed on retail sales, not including an additional 2% local tax.  

Previous states: 

Oregon: People over the age of 21 can possess up to eight ounces and grow up to four plants. There is an excise tax of 25% for retail sales and a $35 per ounce wholesale tax. 

Washington: People over the age of 21 can possess up to one ounce, but they cannot grow any. There is an excise tax of 37% for retail sales and a 25% wholesale tax. 

Colorado: People over the age of 21 can possess up to one ounce and can grow up to six plants.  Excise tax of 10% for retail sales, not including a 2.9% state sales tax, and a 15% wholesale tax. 

Quarterly Product News

Sign up on our quarterly product Email list to receive information on sales, new product releases and tips on storage.